RULE, ESU, YWC win as 1st H Biramangol Memorial U-23 Men's Tournament resumes


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Jun 10 : RULE, Meitram; ESU, Wangkhei Palace Compound and YWC, Langthabal all sealed victories as the 1st Haobam Biramangol Singh Memorial U-23 Men's Cricket Tournament resumed today after a break of 15 days due to rain and flood.
In a Group A match staged at Khangabok Cherapur Public Ground in Thoubal district, RULE rode on Jay Singh's all round performance to defeat KSDO, Kyamgei by 7 wickets for their third group stage win on the trot.
KSDO opted to bat first but were bundled out for 126 runs in 33.5 overs with RULE's Sanjenbam Ananda (3/17 in 7 overs), Boocker Kangjam (3/36 in 8 overs) and Jay Singh (2/17 in 7.5 overs) dismantling their line up.
Jay Singh then struck an unbeaten 63-ball 61 to steer RULE to the target with 7 wickets left to spare.
Md Arif Khan Arippa (29) and Md Akhtar Rahman 26 were the leading run getters for KSDO before Md Abdul Razaque and Md Shah Jahan claimed a wicket apiece in RULE's innings.
In another Group A match held at Model Hr Sec and Oriental College playground, ESU defeated PTRC by 5 wickets riding on exemplary bowling performances from Bishomcha Khundrakpam (5/25 in 7 overs) and Hanjabam Naoba Sharma (4/12 in 7 overs).
PTRC elected to bat first but were dismissed for just 62 runs as their batting line up faltered badly and succumbed to the combination of Bishomcha and Naoba. Only Laitonjam James 30 not out and Ph Jotin 17 managed double digit figures for PTRC as five batters departed on duck and four others ended up getting single digit runs.
Contributions from Hanjabam Donba 10, Naoba 16 and S Sagolshem Ronal 13 not out were more than enough for ESU to seal the victory. Rohit Aribam (2/14), L Jackson (1/14) and Jotin (1/4) were among the wickets for PTRC.
Elsewhere at Thoubal Moijing Public Ground, YWC cruised to their third Group B win on the trot by handing PCC, Mayai Koibi a 71 run defeat.
Toss winners YWC rode on half centuries Heisnam Manikanta (68) and Ngangbam Bingson (52) to post a total of 192/7 in 35 overs despite early setbacks and restricted PCC to 121 for 7 in the chase thanks to frugal bowling attack led by Y Athouba (2/13 in 5 overs).
Lucky Thokchom enjoyed a three wicket haul (3/26 in 7 overs) for PCC as three others picked a wicket apiece before Bobby Khangembam 38, Mairembam Lucky 24 and Lucky Thokchom 14 struggled in the chase.