1st MNCA U23 Men's Cricket TourneyRCA, SCCC, CRAU script comprehensive victories


sports photo
By Our Staff Reporter
IMPHAL, Jun 11 : RCA, Lilong and SCCC, Singjamei Thongam Leikai registered comprehensive wins to go top of Group A and C in the 1st MNCA U-23 Men's Haobam Biramangol Memorial Tournament 2023-24.
At Moijing Public Ground, RCA produced an all round performance to crush TRAU, Kwakeithel by 9 wickets and register their third straight victory in the Group A competition.
TRAU opted to bat first but slumped to 111 all out in 25.1 overs as Naesh Hussain picked five (5/26) and Aziz Mirza claimed two (2/29) to derail the innings.
Syed Hussain then clobbered 12 fours and 1 six on the way to his 51-ball 74 and guided RCA to winning 113/1 within 15.1 overs.
RCA's Naesh Hussain who shone with a five wicket haul was eventually adjudged man of the match.
At Khangabok Cherapur Public Ground, SCCC trounced YUCC, Kwakeithel Moirangpurel by 147 runs for their third straight Group C victory thanks to Basant's all round performance and Khaidem Lishan's prolific bowling performances.
SCCC elected to bat first after winning the toss and rode on an unbeaten 99 off Basant to post a modest total of 213/9 in 40 overs before Khaidem Lishan (5/16 in 5 overs), Rex Waikhom (2/15) and Basant (2/14) pile misery on YUCC who succumbed to a paltry 66 all out despite Ulenyai Khwairakpam's 62 off 59 balls.
Earlier in SCCC innings, Khundrakpam Punshiba returned with the best figures of 5/16 for YUCC as N Sanjit finished with the figures of 2/26.
SCCC's Basant was adjudged player of the match.
Elsewhere at Model HSS and Oriental College ground, CRAU, Khamnam Bazar overwhelmed CYCLONE, Thangmeiband by 108 runs for their second win in three Group D matches.
Put in to bat first, CRAU were bundled out for 192 runs in 34.4 overs despite Lamabam Jotin's 68-ball 88 as Suraj Meisnam (4/58) and Aribam Ronald Sharma (3/27) combined well for CYCLONE.
CRAU however defended their total successfully by bowling out CYCLONE for 84 runs in 24.3 overs with Bm Sabakhan (4/20 in 6.3 overs) and Thongam Joychandra (3/17 in 5 overs) wreaking havoc.
Maverick Wakambam 17, Binson Laithangbam 17 and Rohit Moirangthem 10 were the only batters for CYCLONE who managed meagre but double digit figures in the chase.
Lamabam Jotin who topscored for CRAU was adjudged player of the match.