USPA lift 2nd Statehood Day Polo title

IMPHAL, Jan 21: United States Polo Association (USA) registered easy 9-3 win against Hurlingham Polo Association (UK)  today to clinch the title of 2nd Manipur Statehood Day Women’s Polo tournament.
The match, right from the beginning was dominated by USPA.
Carly Persano and Audry Persano scored two goals each while Anna Winslow contributed one for USPA in the first chukker.
In the second chukker, Carly Persano struck one for USPA while Sarah Jane Hughes hit one for HPA in the same chukker.
Carly Persano, Anna Winslow and Audry Persano scored a goal each in the fourth chukker.
Charlotte Amy Sweeney and Annabel Mcnaught struck a goal each for HPA in the third chukker.
The USPA team were presented Rs 25,000, a trophy and a memento. The runners up team received Rs 15,000, a trophy and memento.
Interestingly, the winners and runners up teams have donated the cash rewards for the promotion of Manipuri ponies.
Manipur team were also presented Rs 10,000 and a memento.
Attending the closing ceremony as the chief guest, Chief Secretary O Nabakishore said that it was encouraging that polo teams from abroad had participated in the tournament.
He also congratulated the Tourism Dept for organising the tournament in a grand manner.
The tournament which began on Jan 17 was organised by the Department of Tourism in collaboration with the All Manipur Polo Association.
A total of three polo teams including two from abroad participated in this year’s edition of the tournament.
The closing ceremony today was attended amongst others by Secretary (Tourism) N Ashok Kumar, Consultant to Govt of Manipur Dr RK Nimai Singh, Commissioner (Art and Culture) H Dileep Singh and president of AMPA Dr K Saratchandra Singh.

Add Comment